Using Screen Share (Windows/macOS)
The Share Screen option can be used to replace video playback with a live display of your computer desktop or a selected window/program. You can start screen sharing by clicking the green Share Screen icon in the middle of your meeting navigation bar.
After clicking the Share Screen icon, a new window will appear. You can select to live share your entire Screen, or the appropriate window or program you wish to share, such as Microsoft Word or Adobe Reader. You may also use the Whiteboard feature to share a virtual whiteboard with your students (you can draw with your mouse or appropriate USB tablet). The iPhone/iPad screen share requires either screen mirroring or a wired connection (via USB) set up, and this will be covered in a future article.
Two check boxes on the bottom of the window allow you to also Share Computer Sound, and Optimize Screen Sharing for Video Clip.
Share Computer Sound allows Zoom to share sounds directly from Windows/Mac (not from a microphone). This is useful for sharing audio from a sound/music file, or a video on YouTube. The volume of your computer sound will be based on the volume level of Windows or macOS, and not the volume knob of your speakers or headset in use.
Optimize Screen Sharing for Video Clip increases the frame rate of your screen sharing, which enhances playback quality but also increases internet bandwidth use. Only select this option if you are confident in the speed and quality of your internet plan.
When sharing a screen, your meeting window will be replaced with a banner overlay on the top of your desktop or selected window. Your meeting participants, if present, will be shown in a small picture-in-picture window on your screen. In the example below, a PDF viewer with sheet music is being shared through the Zoom meeting. This can be a great tool for sharing music related resources to students. The Annotate button allows to temporary mark up what is shared on the screen. You may end screen sharing by clicking the red Stop Share. This will return you to your regular meeting window.